Afisiyoni Meeting (Day 2): Electoral Technical Committee Report

President Farmajo, accompanied by the Prime Minister, the Presidents of Galmudug, South West, Hirshabelle and the Governor of Banadir, heard a report from the Electoral Technical Committee.

The Acting Chairman of the Technical Electoral Commission and Minister of Information of the Federal Government of Somalia, Mr. Osman Abokor Dubbe, reported on the Joint Plan issued by the Electoral Technical Advisory Conference in Baidoa.

The Committee shared with the Leaders the essence of their recommendations on the country’s elections, the standards and figures that are key to the National Plan for holding inclusive elections in accordance with the adopted electoral agreement.

President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo commended the members of the Commission at the Federal, State and Benadir levels for the clear plan they have prepared for the country’s elections, which will complete the major task of holding the elections and implementing the September 17th agreement ratified both Houses of Parliament.

For their part, the Prime Minister of the FGSomalia Mr. Mohamed Hussein Roble, the Presidents of the Regional States, Mr. Ahmed Abdi Kariye (Galmudug), Mr. Ali Abdullahi Hussein (Hirshabelle), Mr. Abdi-Aziz Hassan Mohamed (South West), and the Governor of Benadir, Mr. Omar Mohamud Mohamed, encouraged the Members of the Technical Committee Electoral issues to openly share with the Somali people the content of their consultations, to pave the way for an election in accordance with the approved agreement and the enacted laws.